About us

The first meeting of the Liberton Community Council was on 23rd April 2001. The name was broadened in 2009.

The LDCC’s mission statement is:

“We will proactively engage with the local community and represent its views to the local authorities and others. This will involve both informing our community of the issues affecting it, and responding to the issues that it raises with us.”

Our vision is:

“Our community will be a safe, clean, friendly and happy place to live, work and grow.”

For a useful guide on Community Councils click HERE.

You will find our Constitution (agreed October 2009) here:

You will find our Standing Orders (rules which govern how we hold and organise meetings and such) here:

Our current membership as after the Oct 2016 election is

Chair – Amy Richards
Vice-Chair – Caro Wilkinson
Secretary – Jean Fowler
Treasurer – John Wilkinson
Planning Convener – Jim Henry

List of members:
Tony Barry, Mike Blackshaw, Stuart Fleming (Liberton Association), Graeme Forbes, Jean Fowler, Sandra Hendry (Friends of St Katherine’s Park), Stephen Hendry (Gracemount Community Project), Jim Henry, Derek Jardine (South East Edinburgh Churches Acting Together), William Krol, Su Millar, Mike Rea, Amy Richards, Peter Schwarz, Caro Wilkinson, John Wilkinson.

Ex-officio: Councillors for ward 16: Lezley Cameron, Derek Howie, Lesley Macinnes, Stephanie Smith; Councillors for ward 15 (North of Double Hedges) : Steve Burgess, Alison Dickie, Ian Perry, Cameron Rose;  Ian Murray MP, Ash Denholm MSP (Edinburgh Eastern), Dan Johnson MSP (Edinburgh Southern) plus all list MSPs for the Lothians Region and all MEPs for Scotland.

To email us click HERE